“If your life was a movie …”

“If your life was a movie, would anyone watch?” (Tim Spivy)

One of those automatically-generated ‘possibility’ connections brought this quote to my attention … but it wasn’t quite that simple. 

In the short version of this story, I followed a lead that took me to a post on Twitter: “If you aren’t telling a good story, nobody think[s] you died too soon; they just think you died.” (PeterStGeorge, Apr 17th, 2010)

Now these words grabbed me straight away. That’s got to be a quote, I told myself. So I took a bit of time to follow the different colours threaded through it and found (among other things) that it had come from a book by one Donald Miller: A million miles in a thousand years : What I learned while editing my life. I also found the bit that preceded the Twitter quote. So here’s the whole piece –

“My uncle told a good story with his life, but I think there was such a sadness at his funeral because his story wasn’t finished. If you aren’t telling a good story, nobody thinks you died too soon; they just think you died.”  

__________

Miller, Donald. 2009. A million miles in a thousand years : What I learned while editing my life. New York: Thomas Nelson Publishers

2 thoughts on ““If your life was a movie …”

Leave a Reply

