Pravda

She spoke softly. “What now?”

“Start again,” he said. “Every day, start again.”

(Final words of Pravda, a novel by Edward Docx)

Each day, I give my attention to the discipline of inventing a new post for the day – writing, quoting, or posting a photograph. And I often feel the need to “start again” – as if this is a new, fresh, first day of blogging. What I often get from doing this is a new perspective on what I’m doing and why I’m doing it.

But it’s a bit like breathing; whenever I become conscious of my breathing, I begin to focus, to count, to control, to analyse …

Eventually I forget about all that and get on with whatever else I was doing. And the blog happens all by itself. 

__________

Docx, Edward. 2008. Pravda. New York, NY 10003: Houghton Mifflin Company. [p393]

Leave a Reply

