Not even half-aware

Laurel surprised herself with her smooth reply. “I’m always interested in every aspect of human potential. I believe human beings are infinite. Don’t you? We’re not even half-aware of everything we’re capable of.” (Alexandra Sokoloff, in The Unseen)

One of the fringe benefits of reading novels that canvass topics in which I’m interested is that I get to enjoy not only the writing and the story-telling but also to share something of the author’s quest.

In my reading of The Unseen, I’m being careful just to go with the flow, rather than trying to guess Alex Sokolov’s stand-point.

Moving now from process to content: “We’re not even half-aware of everything we’re capable of,” says the character, Laurel. This is a matter that has kept me pondering over many years … and I reckon I need to keep pondering.   

__________
Sokoloff, Alexandra. 2009. The unseen. New York: St Martin’s Press [p68]

Leave a Reply

