I am that I am

It is incomprehensible that God should exist, and it is incomprehensible that he should not exist. (Blaise Pascal)

Celia Green (a notable British writer on psychology, philosophical skepticism, and twentieth-century thought) must surely have been familiar with Blaise Pascal’s thinking.

“It is inconceivable that anything should be existing,” Green wrote. “It is not inconceivable that a lot of people should also be existing who are not interested in the fact that they exist. But it is certainly very odd.”

Now here’s Albert Einstein on the topic: “What is inconceivable about the universe is that it is at all conceivable.”

How did I get onto this topic? By following another rabbit down a hole … I mean, by following through on some of the stuff that came out of my piece, The things we say about ourselves (18 June 2010 – below).

Writing about the realisation that “I’m always me, no matter how much I change” got me thinking about the narrative in chapter 3 of the Book of Exodus. Moses, about to deliver a message from God to the children of Israel, asks: “Who do I say sent me?”

I’m not about to give you my exegesis of this passage; I’m only suggesting that the story about the burning bush and the Name of God is all about the concept of absolute being. 

There’s a lot of interesting and diverse material available if you Google the words, “I am that I am” – but you’ll need to sift thoroughly and carefully.

Leave a Reply

