Poetry seminar (dream or nightmare)

“Could you start the session by talking about his life – give us some biographical highlights?” It’s suddenly clear that I’m being asked to participate in a poetry seminar – and I’m to be the first speaker.

Who’s the poet? Ah, here he is. (I have a book to read from.)

But I have no idea where to begin. “I don’t want simply to start at the beginning and drone on endlessly,” I say to no-one in particular.

And now the microphone isn’t working properly – and I still can’t decide on a suitable place to start.

I’m wasting everybody’s time, and saying nothing worthwhile.

“They’re all going to think I’m incompetent,” I mutter. And suddenly the microphone is working perfectly and my comment blares out and everyone in the room has heard me make a fool of myself.

Leave a Reply

