Some kind of ‘disconnect’

Some kind of ‘disconnect’ has been happening in my understanding – something to do with learning to love oneself – and, over the years, I’ve tried to work through it, without much success.

So yesterday I wrote to my mentor about it.

I might have guessed that as soon as I was able articulate my problem clearly, there would be a response.

But I didn’t have to wait for my mentor’s email. No, the answer came from Walt Whitman (the line I posted yesterday) …

Whoever you are! claim your own at any hazard!

I found the poem and began to read it over a few times. And the light went on in my head. 

For me, it’s not so much a matter of learning to love myself as it is “claiming” what’s mine – ie, recognising, acknowledging, affirming, owning each characteristic, each character-trait, each way of being in the world.

In this context, the words of Carl Jung make fresh sense to me: “One does not become enlightened by imagining figures of light, but by making the darkness conscious.”

Leave a Reply

