Living on the lip

"Mewlānā" – Jalal ad-Dīn Muhammad Rumi (1207-1273)

"Mewlānā" – Jalal ad-Dīn Muhammad Rūmī (1207-1273)

I have lived on the lip
of insanity, wanting to know reasons,
knocking on a door. It opens.
I’ve been knocking from the inside.

(Jalāl ad-Dīn Muḥammad Rūmī)

Empty-headed, I have no idea what I have to say today … but I do know there’s something waiting to pop out from between these blog-lips of mine. I knew it, in fact, the instant I spotted the Rūmī quote, on another blog.

On that blog, I noticed the word simplify … and I called to mind the years of complexity, the years of depression, the years of fear.

That’s all a long time ago. Life is so much simpler these days.

One thought on “Living on the lip

Leave a Reply

