Rosa Parks: the mother of the freedom movement

Rosa Parks in 1955, with Martin Luther King, Jr in the background

Rosa Parks in 1955, with Martin Luther King, Jr in the background

.

.

.

.

People always say that I didn’t give up my seat because I was tired, but that isn’t true. I was not tired physically, or no more tired than I usually was at the end of a working day. I was not old, although some people have an image of me as being old then. I was forty-two. No, the only tired I was, was tired of giving in. (Rosa Parks

“Rosa Louise McCauley Parks (February 4, 1913 – October 24, 2005) was an African-American civil rights activist, whom the US Congress called ‘the first lady of civil rights’, and ‘the mother of the freedom movement’.” (Wikipedia)

“[In Rosa Parks: My Story,] Parks tells about her vital role in the struggle for equality. In detail this book explains how the civil rights movements started. On December 1, 1955, Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat to a white man on a segregated bus, beginning the Montgomery, Alabama bus boycott.

“This became one of the boldest acts of defiance during this time. Yet, she didn’t stop there. There is much more to her journey. This book illustrates her life like none other from the beginning to the end.” (user review, on Google Books)

__________

Parks, Rosa, with James Haskins. 1992. Rosa Parks: My Story. New York: Dial Books. [p116]

Leave a Reply

