It isn’t real until it’s on the page

"Indiscretion" by Charles Dubow

“Indiscretion” by Charles Dubow

.

.

How do I know all this? Harry wrote it all down, and I read about it later. Every moment of the trip and much more besides. Isn’t that what writers do? It isn’t real until it’s on the page. Although I didn’t know all the details until years after. – “Walter” (the narrator) on p108 of Charles Dubow’s novel, “Indiscretion”

Told through the omniscient eyes of Maddy’s childhood friend Walter, Indiscretion is a juicy, page turning novel with writing that is sophisticated and lyrical. (Goodreads review)

PS: Harry’s affair (the “indiscretion” of the title) is exposed about halfway through the book … and that’s the point I had reached when I posted this piece.

Charles Dubow has me hooked, and I’ll be keen to find out what happens in the second half.

In the meantime, I’m giving a lot of thought to the technicalities of the narrative devices novelists use. Dubow seems somewhat uncomfortable with the device he’s employed – “the omniscient eyes of Maddy’s childhood friend Walter” – and I have been distracted by his frequent reminders and explanations.

PPS (25 July 2013): Finished reading “Indiscretion” several days ago, and overall was satisfied with the book.

2 thoughts on “It isn’t real until it’s on the page

Leave a Reply

